Media Spotlight: Katie Keane, Junior Media Buyer

Katie KeaneEditor’s note: “Media Spotlight” is an ongoing series where we interview the wide range of professionals that make up our growing office. From the traditional media planners to our digital buyers, you’ll gain insight into the many levels that make up Media Works Ltd. This week we interview Junior Media Buyer, Katie Keane

How long have you been working in media/ advertising?

Media Works was my first job in media/advertising right out of college. Hard to believe I started almost 2 years ago! Before Media Works, I interned at three different agencies in the Baltimore area.

Can you describe a day in your life at Media Works?

I know this has been said, but no two days at Media Works are the same – minus the coffee intake, of course. I think that is what makes our jobs so interesting. Some days I can be checking invoices, the next I can be putting buys together or doing research. I have recently taken on new roles, so a lot of my time lately has been learning about the new accounts/markets I am working in.

What’s your all-time favorite ad campaign? What made it special?

I don’t know if I could pick an ‘all-time favorite,’ but I definitely love the Allstate Mayhem commercials. I think it was so creative to give these potential accidents the personality of “Mayhem.” The comic relief definitely helps catch your attention, not to mention the actor is hilarious. I think the only downside is that the viewer may not remember which insurance company is the advertiser; even I had to Google it to write this!

What advice would you offer to someone looking to get into the advertising industry?

My biggest piece of advice would be to do as many internships as possible, and attend as many networking events/fairs that you can find. I did two internships in college and one immediately after graduation. I did not love them all, but they helped me figure out exactly what I was interested and lead me to Media Works.

 

Leave a Reply

