Media Spotlight: Amanda Remeto, Account Supervisor/Media Buyer

CIMG1111Editor’s note: “Media Spotlight” is an ongoing series where we interview the wide range of professionals that make up our growing office. From the traditional media planners to our digital buyers, you’ll gain insight into the many levels that make up Media Works Ltd. This week we interview Account Supervisor/Media Buyer, Amanda Remeto

How long have you been in media?

9.5 years!

Can you describe a day in your life at Media Works?

Fast paced and ever-changing.  I enjoy coming in each day and catching up with my clients & co-workers.  I never know what the day will bring and that keeps my job exciting.  Never a boring day here at Media Works.

What are some of the challenges of your position?

Juggling my family and career.  The advertising world never stops and sometimes you need to be able to “put out fires” after normal 9-5:30 hours.

What is your all-time favorite ad campaign? What made it special? 

That is tough as there are a lot of creative campaigns that launched the past couple years I like.  I’m going to go back a decade or so and say the old McDonalds campaign with the whole gang – Ronald, Hamburglar & Grimace….  The characters really appealed to children.  Also the Folgers jingle gets stuck in my head still – “best part of waking up is Folgers in your cup”. 

Can you name a recent campaign/ commercial that you would’ve done differently? 

The Fiat launch campaign with Jennifer Lopez.  She’s not who I would have picked to represent that brand.  Also I personally find the Progressive insurance current campaign with the sales women annoying.  Although I see the commercials everywhere so the agency did a good job of reaching me and frequently.  They just need to switch up the creative.

What advice would you offer someone looking to get into the industry?

Get experience through multiple internships and try out creative, PR and the media side to determine what fits your personality/strengths the best.  Some young college grads get into media even though they don’t like to deal or work with numbers. That just doesn’t make sense to get into media if you can’t stand working with numbers.

What’s something that no one knows about you? 

I love to garden which most people I meet are surprised about and I love to read novel thanks to my kindle.

Leave a Reply

