Media Spotlight: Laura Howard, Senior Media Buyer

Editor’s note: “Media Spotlight” is an ongoing series where we interview the wide range of professionals that make up our growing office. From the traditional media planners to our digital buyers, you’ll gain insight into the many levels that make up Media Works Ltd. This week we interview Senior Media Buyer, Laura Howard

 

 

How long have you been working in media/ advertising?  

Too long!! 29 years

Can you describe a day in your life at Media Works? 

One of the great things about working at MW is that no 2 days are the same.  Everyday has new challenges and demands and it keeps you from falling into a rut. 

What are some of the challenges of your position? 

With the absence of repetitiveness comes some challenges.  In this era of fast paced communications I find myself very demanding of the people I am waiting on as I put pressure on myself to answer client’s needs ASAP!!  

In addition, there are so many new research tools and technologies to learn and sometimes it can be overwhelming.  I have a new found appreciation for trying to teach my mother how to program the now outdated VCR!!

What’s your all-time favorite ad campaign? What made it special?

I’m not sure I have a favorite ad campaign but I do like campaigns that evoke strong emotions in me whether tears or laughter. 

What advice would you offer to someone looking to get into the advertising industry?

In terms of advice I would offer to someone getting into this industry, I would tell them to find whatever aspect of advertising they feel most passionate about – media, creative, digital, PR – there are many to choose from and – if you’re not sure where your passions lie, do as many internships as possible in the different areas.  Rule out what you don’t like.  And stay current – read as much as you can on the industry!!

What’s something that no one knows about you?

Something that no one knows about me – hmmm that’s hard!!  I wanted to be a journalism major but at the time I couldn’t type fast enough to get into “Editing for the Mass Media”  you had to type 20 wpm on an IBM typewriter.  I was already a junior and knew I had to declare a major.  I had taken Into to American Government and really enjoyed it so I became a government and politics major. I ended up working in advertising but I am a political junkie!!

Leave a Reply

