Media Spotlight: Kass Burrowes, Social Media Relations Manager

12426_586402464704259_65505331_nEditor’s note: “Media Spotlight” is an ongoing series where we interview the wide range of professionals that make up our growing office. From the traditional media planners to our digital buyers, you’ll gain insight into the many levels that make up Media Works Ltd. This week we interview Social Media Relations Manager, Kass Burrowes

How long have you been working in media/ advertising?

I’ve been working in advertising for about 3 years. I started as an intern at an agency and fell in love with the culture and fast pace of the media industry.

What are some of the challenges of your position?

For me the biggest challenge with working in social media is trying to stay abreast on all of the tools and technology available. There’s new platforms and sites being released every week and often times we’re tempted to play with all the new toys, but and as a digital marketer it’s my responsibility to research these options and decide which is the best fit for our clients.

What’s your all-time favorite ad campaign? What made it special?

I’ve always been fascinated by automotive advertising so most of my favorite campaigns are for car companies. Over the past couple of years I’ve really enjoyed seeing Cadillac transform from a stale brand into a product coveted by people of all ages. More recently I’ve fallen in love with the Mad Med inspired Lincoln commercials that run during the show. Often time’s sponsorships can seem forced, but as a fan of the show I really appreciate them taking the time to make the ads appear seamless with the show.

Can you name a recent campaign that you would’ve done differently?

For me there aren’t too many campaigns that I would’ve done differently, but I do feel that there are some brands that need a reality check. As a social media addict it frustrates me when I see brands avoiding social media integration into their spots. We’re seeing more brands include their Twitter and Facebook handles into their commercials to help drive traffic. Forbes reported that 75% of brands integrated social into their ads. Obviously I’m a little partial because I work in the industry, but I really do see value in driving your customers to the social space.

What advice would you offer to someone looking to get into the advertising industry?

My advice to any young professional looking to get into advertising would be to hustle. These days there are so many people looking to get into advertising/social media that you have to find a way to make yourself stick out from the crowd. Whether it’s finding a creative way to represent yourself in your resumé or simply working double time to land an interview, or working unpaid as an intern, you have to work hard to get the job you want. That’s the first part. The second part is working just as hard to keep your job and make an impact. For me it was never just about getting a job in advertising. I felt I had good ideas and I wanted the opportunity to share them and see them implemented. As a result I did whatever it took to get my feet in the door so that I could prove myself and I’ve been here ever since.

Leave a Reply

