Media Spotlight: Lauren Barnaba, Digital Media Planner

profilepicEditor’s note: “Media Spotlight” is an ongoing series where we interview the wide range of professionals that make up our growing office. From the traditional media planners to our digital buyers, you’ll gain insight into the many levels that make up Media Works Ltd. This week we interview Digital Media Buyer, Lauren Barnaba.

Q: How long have you been working in media/ advertising?

I’ve been working in the Advertising industry since I graduated college. Prior to Media Works I worked at a staffing agency called Profiles where I was their Marketing Coordinator. I’m going on 4 years at Media Works in November!

Q: Can you describe a day in your life at Media Works?

Each and every day at Media Works is fairly different but typically starts out with 3 large cups of coffee! Throughout the day I like to do my research to keep up on industry trends via blogs, Twitter, LinkedIn, etc. I normally have a few webinars and meetings each week to keep up with new offerings in the market for my clients. Every day I monitor, bid & report on Facebook and Google campaigns, making sure I’m staying within my budget for each campaign. There are many brainstorming sessions that happen in the Interactive Pod (iPod) throughout the day. I also spend my time planning for future campaigns, talking with sites & vendors and making sure emails get answered.

Q: What are some of the challenges of your position?

The advertising world is changing every minute so a big challenge for me is keeping up with all the new trends in the market, social media platforms, and other opportunities for my clients. Facebook and Google specifically are always rolling out new features so it’s my job to keep up with all the latest and greatest!

Q: What’s your all-time favorite ad campaign? What made it special?

I honestly don’t have a favorite but I can tell you that I get pretty serious during the Super bowl commercials. I did a project in my advertising class in college on the Super bowl ads and have been analyzing since then. I do always enjoy the E-Trade baby, Bud Light and Doritos commercials. Most recently, I love the Volkswagen dog ad. The one where the dog works out to get through the doggy door. It hits home for me because I grew up with a dog and consider myself a dog lover!

Q: What advice would you offer to someone looking to get into the advertising industry?

If you are still in college or a recent college grad make sure you intern as much as you can in the industry and learn, learn, learn about each sector of advertising! Network and surround yourself with professionals to get involved and make a name for yourself. Attend webinars to educate and keep up with current trends. Don’t be afraid to ask questions.

Q: What’s something that no one knows about you?

I played on the #1 soccer team in the nation my senior year of high school. I have also met and hung out with John Mayer while in NYC.

Leave a Reply

