Media Spotlight: Beth Jenkins, Media Buyer

Editor’s note: “Media Spotlight” is an ongoing series where we interview the wide range of professionals that make up our growing office. From the traditional media planners to our digital buyers, you’ll gain insight into the many levels that make up Media Works Ltd. This week we interview Media Buyer, Beth Jenkins.

Q: How long have you been working in media/ advertising?

Going on 5 years – Media Works was my first job out of college!

Q: Can you describe a day in your life at Media Works?

A day at Media Works is never the same, which is one part of my job that I love. Some days it is research, media buying, and negotiating. Other days could be meetings, education, and phone calls. Most days it is everything.

Q: What are some of the challenges of your position?

Because what we do is so specialized, I think it is a challenge sometimes to communicate to vendors, clients, etc. all of the behind the scenes work we are doing to get the absolute best deal. A lot goes into our processes that I think sometimes gets lost in the mix.

Q: What’s your all-time favorite ad campaign? What made it special?

I love the AT&T commercials with the guy sitting around with the little kids talking about “faster is better.” There are a couple different ads centered on this concept and I laugh so hard every time. I don’t know if it is the kid’s responses or the way this guy reacts to them, probably both. However, I think the big problem with this ad campaign is the brand recall. I remember the kids and their dialogue more than I do AT&T.

Q: What advice would you offer to someone looking to get into the advertising industry?

If you are still in college, do as many internships as you can trying out the different roles in advertising. Stay up to date on the ever changing media landscape, keep yourself well informed and know what you are talking about.

Q: What’s something that no one knows about you?

It was revealed at our Holiday Party, but I never had a hamburger at a restaurant before. But I can happily report that while in Austin last month, I ordered a burger and it was amazing.

Leave a Reply

