Media Spotlight: Jody Berg, CEO

Jody Spotlight PicEditor’s note: “Media Spotlight” is an ongoing series where we interview the wide range of professionals that make up our growing office. From the traditional media planners to our digital buyers, you’ll gain insight into the many levels that make up Media Works Ltd. This week we interview Jody Berg, CEO of Media Works.

Q: How did you get your start at Media Works?

Having my father’s entrepreneurial spirit has always driven me to create something for myself and control my own destiny. For years I worked in media at a number of different ad agencies and felt that media departments were often looked over for brainstorming sessions and I felt that I had more to offer. Working at various advertising agencies here in Baltimore, like GKV, Carton Donofrio, and Image Dynamics, I felt it was time to expand and start my own agency. It was around this time that I had my first child and I wanted the flexibility to work and spend time with my family.  So, in 1989 I created Media Works and I setup shop right at the kitchen table of my townhouse.

Q: How is your business model different?

From the very beginning, Media Works has always been focused on the media only side of advertising. When we first started we were the second media only agency to get started in Baltimore. At that time it was all about having the “big agency.” It gave us the opportunity to give our clients the best media recommendations without being biased from what the creative departments wanted. While other agencies have account and creative departments, our strategy has always been to standout and be judged on what we do best. Being able to focus on the media also allows us to partner with other agencies that are doing great creative work in and around Baltimore. This is important because it allows us to be flexible in our approach to new business while staying current on the latest trends in our business.

Q: How would you describe your leadership style?

Being a good listener has always been a value of mine. You can ask anyone here and they’ll tell you that I keep an open door policy. Whether it’s my executive team or the employees here, I make a point to listen to other opinions and rely on the perspectives of those I work with. Before any large decisions are made I consult my executive team so that we can make a unified decision. I surround myself with bright people who are very good in their fields.

Q: What do you like most about Media Works?

My favorite part about Media Works is the people who work for me and our clients. The energy and the personalities here really make us a unique team that you’ll be hard pressed to find anywhere else. We have some people who’ve worked here for 10+ years and have seen us grow to the 30 employees we have today. The loyalty of everyone here really makes us like a family. As a team, we work hard and play hard and it shows in the work that we do.

Q: What do you feel is your most significant achievement?

It’s hard to choose just one. For me, staying in business for 24 years is a huge achievement. With any business you’re going to have challenges, but being able to grow our business at a steady pace really makes it all worthwhile. We also have clients who’ve been with Media Works for over 10 years and that means a lot. Being able to stay responsive to an ever changing industry also is something I’m proud of.

For more information, please visit our website at www.medialtd.com

Leave a Reply

