How Do YOU Watch TV?

Are you one of the 40% of people watching TV while tweeting, Facebook stalking, surfing the web, checking emails, or downloading new apps on your Smartphone? I am definitely guilty of escaping to my Smartphone and honestly, I can’t help it. I can’t help that I am addicted to my iPhone and keeping up with the latest news, gossip, and apps; it’s incredible what you can do on the new Smartphone’s. If I am watching a show or movie and a commercial break comes on, the first thing I do is pick up my phone. Whether I have a reason of picking up my phone or not, it has become a habit during commercials or programs I’m not really into. Below are stats from Nielsen about what Tablet and Smartphone users are doing while watching TV:

This is something that marketers and advertisers should start thinking about because the numbers will only increase with time. We already know that traditional TV interaction has decreased so the next thing to think about is how to interact with and understand what consumers are doing while watching TV and why. Some companies are already doing this by informing the consumer about their app and checking out their Facebook, Twitter or website. Lots of TV shows broadcast live-tweeting during the show by using #(showtitle) to promote a Twitter discussion during the show.  I use this with some of the reality shows I watch because it’s a good way to engage with other viewers and friends watching the same show. These are probably the two most common types of marketing interaction I have experienced while watching TV.

What’s even crazier is there’s an app (called “Remote”) that is a remote controller and allows you change channels on your TV by using your iPod, iPhone, and iPad. Talk about multitasking! Tweeting, Facebooking, emailing and changing channels with one device in hands at all times? Sign me up!

So next time you sit down to watch TV, are you just watching TV or is the TV a background noise?

Leave a Reply

